Plan To Survive 2012 .com

"Helping You Prepare For Your Future!"



2012 Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Survival Knife Review – Is it Great or Garbage?

NEW Review from GerberSurvivalKnife.org… Let’s take a fresh look at the Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate knife for 2012. Along the way we’ll talk with Jeff Freeman, the designer of this knife and find out what Gerber has done to fix it’s early problems. We’ll look at the Bear Grylls knife from just about every angle and hone in on who should buy this knife and who should look somewhere else. Could this be the best survival knife for the money today or is it just a piece of garbage? Let’s find out… If you found this video helpful and are ready to buy any survival gear, I’d be honored if you use the following link to find your best price on Amazon tinyurl.com Check out www.GerberSurvivalKnife.org for more reviews and best deals on the Gerber Prodigy, Gerber LMF II, Gerber Bear Grylls, top 10 best survival knives and other cool survival gear… Here are MORE links to a few TACTICAL and SURVIVAL Knives you may want to check out Gerber LHR: tinyurl.com Gerber Silver Trident – Double Edged Combat Knife… tinyurl.com SOG Specialty Knives… tinyurl.com Gerber ApplegateFairbairn Combat Folder & Covert Folder – These are my personal favorite carry all knives… tinyurl.com Gerber LMF II Survival Knife – Full Review www.gerberlmf.org Gerber Prodigy Tactical Knife – Full Review www.gerberprodigy.com To compare the Gerber Prodigy Tanto survival knife: www.gerberprodigy.com Here is the link to some top-ranked knife sharpeners you may want to consider: tinyurl.com Warm regards, David

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Thursday, March 15th, 2012 2012 Survival

24 Comments to 2012 Gerber Bear Grylls Ultimate Survival Knife Review – Is it Great or Garbage?

pe6obutilkata
February 18, 2012

I stopped watching when he said – This knife is made in China

1joshjosh1
February 18, 2012

I love my BG knife,good review,thank you.
I am glad that I now know my knife is the ”MK 2” with the pomel problem fixed.

stonenstrop
February 20, 2012

Wake -up! We have been buying stuff from China since the 1600s. They make some cheap stuff, but they also make some good tool type products including knives. The key is the quality requirements of the U.S. buyer company and the extent that company monitors the Chinese maker’s compliance to the product specification. I believe goods by Gerber design and quality control have a good history. stonenstrop

MisterAllenH
February 21, 2012

@mesa401 He uses this knife in the show on many occasions. Classic example of an uneducated patriot commenting on a video. If you knew this stuff already why do you bother wasting your time watching reviews on it. I bought this knife, and have beat the hell out of it, as this professional has and I have had nothing but beautiful results. Closed-minded people like you are the scum of the internet and ruin it for everyone else. Logical people that is. Balls of steel? More like brain of steel.

MisterAllenH
February 21, 2012

@UltimateSurvivalTips Every steel has it’s purpose also, which is what i’ve learned from cutlerylover, you’ve probably heard of him. So a weaker steel or softer is better for some situations as it chips less and sharpens easier. So I think that for the intended purpose of this knife the steel is perfect. I own one and I am very happy with it.

MisterAllenH
February 21, 2012

@UltimateSurvivalTips And please correct me if I’m wrong, I’m looking to learn.

MisterAllenH
February 22, 2012

@mesa401 Resorted to name-calling, how didn’t I see that coming.. and hahaha I have sharpened it a few times and it is hair-popping right now, takes a great edge. And no problem dude. I love being sure of who exactly it is I’m arguing with. Sure enough, you WERE as narrow-minded and inherently dumb as I suspected you were. Grats’ on that anyways bro.

Commandercory7
February 23, 2012

how can we say this knife is garbage because its not made in usa when cold steel is is made in japan and their some of the the best factory knives produced. one being the srk and from my stand point the ultimate fine edge is good for the size but will not even dare compete with a trailmaster esee junglas or Ontario sp50. because. there large blade survival. knives. so my over all opinion is CS RECON SCOUT hands down one of the best 7 in blades ever so if had to choose it would be it

charlesoverturf
February 23, 2012

First and fore most, good job on the video. It is definitely first class. You did a great job.

I just bought this knife, and I love it. For the money, you can’t find a better all around survival knife with attachments!! I absolutely recommend this knife!!

awestm11
February 25, 2012

wonderful video, but i need some advice. bear grylls ultimate or gerber prodigy? i like the fire starter and sharpener that come fixed to the sheath of bear grylls knife as well as the convenient lashing holes, but i feel like the prodigy is the better knife, just barebones. i’m going to ecuador this spring and while i would really like to get the lmf ii asek, it just isnt in the budget

Commandercory7
February 26, 2012

@awestm11 dude their really the same so prodigy better steel very good knife for money just buy a good shapener and set.

aldankuul
February 26, 2012

@UltimateSurvivalTips actually, it’s a high carbon steel. You can tell by how strong the sparks are from the firesteel

aldankuul
February 26, 2012

Is it me or does this guy sound like daneboe?

driftworld86
February 28, 2012

@theheadshot45 it’s almost 2 weeks so iunno if you already bought a knife, but i’d recommend Mora’s new updated version of their well trusted Clipper – the Mora Companion. unlike Clipper, the tang goes very far behind, almost consider full tang. it’s cheap and has scandinavian grind – i.e. easier to resharpen to razors edge. very light and versatile. trusted by pretty much every bushcraft ppl.

Cbertian
March 1, 2012

@aldankuul It’s not high carbon steel. It’s an alloy steel.

Cbertian
March 1, 2012

Make a black/bladesmith friend and get a genuine quality blade. Serrations are garbage; a quality carbon steel blade cuts better than any serration (and is infinitely easier to maintain)… if you need to saw… use a saw or have the smith put the saw on the back of the blade… leave room for an anvil for battoning or striking a flint. Basically this is a lazy and cheap persons knife… that’s also a tool (bear grylls knife…c’mon seriously?)

Cbertian
March 1, 2012

Gerber does make good knives though… this one just strikes me as gimmicky. I personally love the gators.

builtinrush1
March 8, 2012

When you click on the link the first item comes up is that the new revised knife

AllenJustinP
March 10, 2012

It is actually $36.50 as of 3/10/12. This is a unbeatable price for such a great knife.

SSshane6d9
March 10, 2012

@Cbertian I fail to see how you would determine that this is a lazy ad cheap persons knife? There’s a ton of uses for serations over a standard blade, yes the serations cover a little to much area but that can be fixed. So how dis you coento this conclusion? Did you own one? And why would a person who would buy one be a tool? Because they have a different opinion then you? I believe the only tool here is you!

agricola
March 14, 2012

just buy a fallkniven

Pagansdad
March 15, 2012

erm…think Ill stick with my Jarvenpaa. bleh hype crap poop, 50/50 edge…….bleh.

Pagansdad
March 15, 2012

@ 5:28 I always wonder who decided this was a important survival technique. If your standing there holding a knife in one hand and a stick in the other…….instead of lashing your MOST important survival tool to the stick and probably ruining it, when not IF you miss, SHARPEN THE STICK! Biggest hollywood Rambo move ever. Furthermore…and completely beside the point. No one needs holes in a knife to lash it to a stick. Its called whipping. This is hollywood nonsense wrapped in a blade.

Pagansdad
March 15, 2012

Ok….one more coment. Lol. FOr all my bitching. You made a Fantastic video! All my negative nancy comments are for that knife.

Leave a comment